Prodeco Outlaw SE Motor Issue

momoboy

1 µW
I apologize in advance for the long post. I am new to e-bikes but am handy with electronics. I just got hold of a 2013 Prodeco Outlaw SE. The seller said there was an issue with the motor so I figured I would take a chance.

The battery is good. Holds a charge fine and voltage is good

The initial symptoms were a grinding noise in the hub like something was rubbing and the hub might engage for a second when giving it throttle. In researching I figured it would be a hall sensor.

I opened the hub and noticed one of the wire going to one of the hall sensors seems loose and touching it broke the wire off. Since I didn’t have a new hall sensor I took off the other 2 wires. I put the hub back together to test. The motor responded instantly to the throttle and spun for a few seconds then stopped. I would then have to reset the throttle and it would do it again. My assumption was that the controller would engage the motor, realize there is a missing hall sensor and stop.

So I replaced the hall sensor which I assumed was correct (the old one said 41F). I do not know much about these so I figured all 41F’s are the same? Perhaps I am assuming wrong.

After installing the motor would engage and run a little longer but only engage at ¼ throttle most times. Sometimes, when engaged, I could move to full throttle. Sometimes the motor would run for a few seconds and sometimes it would run for minutes. There were a few times I could even go straight to full and the motor would run fine. I was assuming if a hall sensor was bad then it wouldn't run that long. All in all after a while it would cut out eventually.

I’m going to tear it apart again but hoping for some guidance. I’m assuming I need to check for any wiring issues in the hub. Perhaps even if a wire is connected there could be an intermittent break. Does anyone think it could be a controller or throttle issue?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!